Opened 9 months ago

Last modified 5 weeks ago

#2301 new defect

Add optional to remove completely "I2P News"

Reported by: anonymous maybe Owned by:
Priority: major Milestone: undecided
Component: apps/console Version: 0.9.36
Keywords: Cc:
Parent Tickets:

Description

After upgrading i2p from 0.9.35 to 0.9.36 , I2P news enabled itself by itself (i disabled it by default) so i think this is a violation to my preferences through upgrade.

Please give the freedom option to user to delete or remove completely I2P news link.

Thank You

(I made it "major" because this is violation on user preferences)

Subtickets (add)

Attachments (2)

i2p1.png (42.0 KB) - added by anonymous maybe 4 months ago.
i2p2.png (69.9 KB) - added by anonymous maybe 4 months ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (6)

comment:1 follow-up: Changed 9 months ago by zzz

  • Component changed from unspecified to apps/console
  • Status changed from new to infoneeded_new

which option?
Refresh frequency: Never on /configupdate ?
Did the option change after the update?

comment:2 in reply to: ↑ 1 Changed 9 months ago by anonymous maybe

  • Status changed from infoneeded_new to new

Replying to zzz:

Refresh frequency: Never on /configupdate ?
Did the option change after the update?

yes , it changed after the update from never to every xx hour (i think it was 36 hours but not sure).

comment:3 Changed 4 months ago by anonymous maybe

new way that it shows it still working (but in a buggy way?)

my news&update disabled but again it still showing news check the uploaded attachments

(it showing that there is new version but older than the running version + i have news updates disabled already!)

Changed 4 months ago by anonymous maybe

Changed 4 months ago by anonymous maybe

comment:4 Changed 5 weeks ago by zzz

ok, you want the news section to be hidden from the summary bar if the option is set to disable?
What if the user clicks 'check for updates' manually? Should we re-display it then? For how long?
I don't believe the option is 'enabled by itself' as you said in the OP. It's just always displayed in the summary bar, even if the option is set to disable.

Please clarify what you'd like us to do if it's set to disable.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.